LCOS Home Page Terms of Use Privacy Policy ELCA Home Page
Worship with Us on Sundays
8:00 a.m. Traditional Service
10:30 a.m. Prayer and Praise Service

Fifth Sundays:  10:30 a.m
Only ONE Blended Worship Service

Childcare available

9:15 a.m. Christian Education

About LCOS Ministries & Resources Calendar Location & Map
WELCA Happenings and Women's Resources


The women's ministry of Lutheran Church of Our Savior is part of the larger network of the

Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (WELCA)

As a community of women, created in the image of God, called to discipleship in Jesus Christ, and empowered by the Holy Spirit, we commit ourselves to grow in faith, affirm our gifts, support one another in our callings, engage in ministry and action, and promote healing and wholeness in the church, the society and the world.  This community of women supports the life, work, and mission of the Lutheran Church of Our Savior by coming together for study, support, and action.

 

How you can be involved

Study

The most routine study activities are monthly "Circle" meetings. Joy and Mary circles use the Bible studies in the magazine of the Women of the ELCA, Gather.

 

Support

Circle meetings are a great way to get know other women in an informal supportive environment.  Women of our WELCA unit also join with other WELCA units in the area for "cluster events" to learn and support mission outreach together.  The WELCA group also puts on special events throughout the year to support each other in prayer, study, community awareness, health, fun, ministry, and mission. 

Action

Rebecca Circle specializes in producing beautiful and practical articles of comfort such as quilts, sleeping bags, lap robes, bibs, wheelchair bags, diapers, and soap bags.  These items are distributed to Central City Lutheran Mission, the Veteran's Hospital, Mary's Table, Ronald McDonald charities, and other people in need of tangible comfort in our community.  Rebecca Circle meets at 9:00 am on Fourth and Fifth Thursdays in the Parish Hall for traditional projects.  Rebecca Circle meets at 9:00 a.m. on the Third Thursday of the month to create diapers for children in Africa out of donated T-shirts.  No previous experience is required. Come and learn a new craft!

Quilt Making Resources:

Lutheran World Relief Quilt Campaign

WELCA 2013 Calendar (pdf)

Business Meetings Circle Meetings WELCA Special Events
March

Sunday, March 10
WELCA Board Meeting
11:30 a.m., Library

Thurs, March 7, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, March 14, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, March 21, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, March 28, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall

 
April Sunday, April 14
WELCA Board Meeting
11:30 a.m., Library
Thurs, April 4, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, April 11, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, April 18, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, April 25, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall

Thursday, April 25:  Men's & Women's Steak Dinner

May No WELCA Board Meeting

Thurs, May 2, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, May 9, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, May 16, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, May 23, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, May 30, 9:00 a.m. ????

 
June Sunday, June 9
WELCA Board Meeting
11:30 a.m., Library
Thurs, June 6, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, June 13, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, June 20, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, June 27, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall
 
July No Board meeting   Sunday, July 28:  Christmas in July
Aug ? WELCA Board Meeting

Thurs, Aug 1, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, Aug 8, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, Aug 15, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, Aug 22, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, Aug 29, 9:00 a.m. ????

 
Sept

Sunday, September 8
Boa
rd Meeting
11:30 a.m., Library

Thurs, Sept 5, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, Sept 12, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, Sept 19, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, Sept 26, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall

Saturday, Sept 21:  Fall Luncheon

Oct Sunday, October 13
Boa
rd Meeting
11:30 a.m., Library
Thurs, Oct 3, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, Oct 10, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, Oct 17, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, Oct 24, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, Oct 31, 9:00 a.m. ????
October 20, 9:15 a.m. - 1:00 p.m.
Thank offering.  WELCA 25th anniversary reception
Nov

Sunday, November 10
Boa
rd Meeting
11:30 a.m., Library

Thurs, Nov 7, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, Nov 14, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home

Nov 15:  boutique set-up
Nov 16-17 WELCA boutique

Dec No Board Meeting Thurs, Dec 5, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, Dec 12, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Dec 15:  WELCA Cup o' Cheer
Jan 2014 Sunday, January 12
WELCA Board Meeting
11:30 a.m., Library

Thurs, Jan 2, 6:00 p.m., Joy, Library
Thurs, Jan 9, 9:30 a.m. Mary, member home
Thurs, Jan 16, 9:00 a.m., Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, Jan 23, 9:00 a.m. Rebecca, Parish Hall
Thurs, Jan 30, 9:00 a.m. ????

 

WELCA gathers supplies and supports many other ministries through ongoing collections and fellowship events.  These events and collections support:  Ronald McDonald House, the Lutheran Maritime Ministry, Mary's Table , a Touch of Home , Central City Lutheran Mission , and local animal shelters.

With the exception of large or perishable items, items can be placed in church collection boxes which are generally located in the Parish Hall (or one may be in the entrance of the church).  The following lists are available for those who may have appropriate items at home or can include someone less fortunate in their shopping:

Animal Care List (pdf)

Central City Lutheran Mission List (pdf)

Touch of home list (pdf)

WELCA also collects to support education:

  • UPC symbols from Campbell 's soup products
  • Box Tops for Education
  • Canceled Postage Stamps  (*NEW*) 

These are located in the same Parish Hall area as Sunday School's aluminum pull-tabs for Ronald McDonald House .

 

WELCA also contributes financially to community organizations such as Central City Lutheran Mission , Inland Congregations United for Change , Navajo Evangelical Lutheran Mission , and the Lutheran Maritime Ministry.

Resources

Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America (WELCA)

Lutheran Woman Today

Lutheran World Relief Fair Trade

"Giving Daily Care" stewardship reflections

Monday Prayer at noon

Free Journey to Wellness Publication

The National Women's Health Information Center - Women's Health

The National Women's Health Information Center - Girl's Health

National Women's Health Resource Center

For Further Information

To find out more about any of these activities, events, or resources, contact Joanne Bates by sending an email to welca@LCOSavior.org .

The symbol with the cross, water and a white lily identifies the Women of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in America as children of God; baptized, forgiven, adopted into God's family, full of grace and hope in eternal life. It is a reminder of the growth, beauty, and vitality that rises out of that life-giving baptismal water. It is also a reminder of the mission of the church to "Go, therefore, make disciples of all nations; baptize them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit" (Matthew 28:19).

 "For God so loved the world, that He gave His only Son, and whoever believes in Him shall not perish, but have eternal life." John: 3:16

About LCOS | Ministries & Resources | Calendar | Location